National Digital Litracy Mission

The Department of Electronics & Information Technology (DeitY), under Ministry of Communication & Information Technology, initiated a Scheme for IT Mass literacy in 2014. The first phase of the programme, called National Digital Literacy Mission (NDLM), was launched in August 2014 to provide basic digital literacy to 10 lakh citizens in select blocks of each State/UT by covering one person from every digitally illiterate household.


Digital Saksharata Abhiyan

The second phase of the programme, named as Digital Saksharata Abhiyan (DISHA) was initiated in December 2014 with the objective of providing basic digital literacy training to 42.50 lakh citizens. Grassroots government functionaries like ASHA and Anganwadi workers and authorized ration dealers were also covered under this scheme. CSc SPV achieved the targets under the NDLM-DISHA scheme by October 2016, much ahead of the project deadline. Over 100 lakh citizens were registered under the scheme for digital literacy training, of which 87.68 lakh were trained and 53.46 lakh certified.

Pradhan Mantri GraminDigital Saksharata Abhiyan

Pradhan Mantri Gramin Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (PMGDISHA): Following the successful implementation of NDLM-DISHA scheme, Government of India launched a new digital litracy scheme in February 2017, specifically targeted at rural areas of the country. ‘Pradhan Mantri Gramin Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (PMGDISHA)’ envisages digital literacy training to six crore citizens in rural areas, thereby reaching out to 40% of rural households by covering one member from every digitally unskilled household. CSC SPV has been engaged as the Implementing Agency for the scheme.

Visit For More Information: